Beginning of July means new Indiana laws in effect
MISHAWAKA, Ind. – A wave of new laws went into effect on July 1 in Indiana.
The major laws include abortion consent, handguns for victims of domestic violence, and a limit put on opioid prescriptions.
Abortion consent law
This law requires a judge to inform parents that their daughter is seeking an abortion. The law would make it difficult for minors to get an abortion without their parent’s knowledge or consent.
However, it is currently not in effect after a federal judge issued a preliminary injunction against the law. ABC News reports Planned Parenthood of Indiana and Kentucky and the American Civil Liberties Union of Indiana sued the state in order to prevent three provisions from taking effect. Now, with the injunction those provisions have been blocked.
Handguns for victims of domestic violence
Victims of domestic violence can carry a handgun without a license for 60 days only if they have a protective order against their abuser.
Limits on opioid prescriptions
This law puts a limit on the amount of opioids a doctor can prescribe to children and first-time opioid users.
Indiana lawmakers increased motor fuel taxes by ten cent and for those using diesel by 31 cents a gallon. The state hopes to use this tax to help fill potholes across the state.
Semi right-of-way on roundabouts
Drivers will be fined if they don’t yield the right-of-way to semi-trucks or those spanning 40 feet or longer in a circular intersection.
Animals locked in hot car
If a person see a dog or any domestic animal locked in a hot car they can break the window and save it... But if you break you buy half of it.
The law says the person must pay 50 percent of the cost of the damage, unless the owner says it’s alright.
“They want to make sure that people aren’t just going by and smashing windows anytime they see a pet in the car,” said Genny Carlson, executive director at the SJC Humane Society.
There are some stipulations for this law: the animal must appear to be under distress, the doors must be locked, the person must call 9-1-1 before taking the situation into their own hands, and finally, the person should stay with the animal until police officers arrive.