DNR awards grants to local rural and volunteer fire departments

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The Indiana Department of Natural Resources announced the awarding of more than $454,000 in Volunteer Fire Assistance grants to 101 rural and volunteer fire departments across 58 counties.

According to DNR officials, the funds will be used for training or purchasing necessary firefighting equipment and gear to combat wildland fires.

Local departments receiving funds:

  • Osolo Township Volunteer Fire Department (VFD) in Elkhart County will receive $4,750 for water handling.
  • Aubbeenaubbee Township Fire Department in Fulton County will receive $4,956.50 for water handling.
  • The LaGrange and Mongo VFDs, both in LaGrange County, will receive $2,499.50 and $5,000, respectively, for communications.
  • Both the Argos VFD in Marshall County and the Monterey VFD in Pulaski County will each receive $5,000 for general safety.
  • The San Pierre Township VFD in Starke County will receive $5,000 for communication improvements.
  • The Walkerton-Lincoln Fire Territory and Liberty Township Fire, both in St. Joseph County will be receiving $5,000 each for general safety and water handling, respectfully. 

The grants will be administered by the DNR Division of Forestry and distributed through the U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest Service.

According to DNR officials, winning departments were chosen based on population density, acres of public lands protected, and wildland fire reporting to DNR Fire Control Headquarters. As in past years, emphasis was given to projects that involved the fighting of wildfires.

Share this article: