Gov. Whitmer reopens two regions of the state, issues guidelines for open businesses

NOW: Gov. Whitmer reopens two regions of the state, issues guidelines for open businesses

During Gov. Gretchen Whitmer's press conference Monday she announced she is allowing two regions of the state to reopen and provided details of an executive order that requires businesses to keep their employees and the public safe from COVID-19.

Gov. Whitmer signed an executive order Monday requiring all businesses to protect their workers, patrons and communities from infection. They must develop a COVID-19 preparedness and response plan and make it available to employees and customers by June 1.

Businesses also must train employees on infection-control practices, the proper use of PPE, steps workers must take to notify the business or operation of any symptoms of COVID-19 or a suspected or confirmed diagnosis of COVID-19, and how to report unsafe working conditions.

To help with enforcement, the governor appointed a Director of COVID-19 Workplace Safety.

On May 22, the Traverse City region and the Upper Peninsula will be allowed to reopen retail, restaurants and offices.

Restaurants and bars will have to limit capacity to 50% of their normal seating, keep groups at least six feet from one another, require their servers to wear face coverings, and follow rigorous disinfection protocols.

The counties included the order for reopening are: Manistee, Wexford, Missaukee, Roscommon, Benzie, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Crawford, Leelanau, Antrim, Otsego, Montmorency, Alpena, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Presque Isle, Emmet, Gogebic, Ontonagon, Houghton, Keweenaw, Iron, Baraga, Dickinson, Marquette, Menominee, Delta, Alger, Schoolcraft, Luce, Mackinac and Chippewa.

Share this article: