Notre Dame football celebrates 2019 at annual Echoes show

NOW: Notre Dame football celebrates 2019 at annual Echoes show

SOUTH BEND, Ind. - Notre Dame football has one more game left of the 2019 season, set to meet Iowa State in the Camping World Bowl on Dec. 28 However, the Irish took time before bowl preparation to honor their regular season accomplishments and their seniors at the annual Echoes awards show.

Senior wide receiver Chase Claypool was named the team's Most Valuable Player after scoring 12 touchdowns in his final season, raising his career total to 18, tenth all-time in Notre Dame history. He also surpassed the 2,000-yard mark for his career as well. But afterwards, he said the night was made more special simply because the team could celebrate what it did together.

“We didn’t give up and I think we finished the season really strong and showed the true character of the team," Claypool said of Notre Dame's response after the loss to Michigan. "I think it makes everything worth it. All the ups and downs throughout the season, I’m glad we kept battling.”

Ian Book was named Offensive Player of the Year and Khalid Kareem was named Defensive Player of the Year.

View the full list of winners below.

Echoes Award Winners

Irish Around the Bend – Jalen Elliot

Scout Team Player of the Year: Offense – Brendon Clark

Scout Team Player of the Year: Defense – Isaiah Foskey

WOPU Player of the Year -- Mick Assaf

Newcomer of the Year: Offense – Jarrett Patterson

Father Lange Iron Cross – Asmar Bilal

Rockne Student-Athlete – Chris Finke

Pietrosante Award – Shaun Crawford

Moose Krause Lineman of the Year – Julian Okwara

Offensive Lineman of the Year – Robert Hainsey

Humble & Hungry Award -- Trevor Ruhland

Special Teams Player of the Year – Bo Bauer

Impact Player on Defense -- Alohi Gilman

Impact Player on Offense -- Cole Kmet

Back of the Year -- Tony Jones Jr.

Next Man In – Jamir Jones

Co-Newcomer of the Year: Defense – Drew White and Kyle Hamilton

Defensive Player of the Year – Khalid Kareem

Offensive Player of the Year – Ian Book

Most Valuable Player – Chase Claypool

Share this article: