Three La Porte County deputies receive "Beyond the Expected" award

Photo courtesy of LCSO- Captain Derek J. Allen 

Photo courtesy of LCSO - Major Heath Haferkamp

Photo courtesy of LCSO- Deputy Robert "Paul" Adams

La Porte County, Ind. – On Wednesday morning, three La Porte County deputies received the annual “Beyond the Expected” award from the Merit Board and Mr. Andy Fox of 1st Source Bank.

Captain Derek J. Allen received the award for his leadership roles in the planning of three major events that occurred in September: preparing and planning for the Tribute to Heroes Benefit Concert, planning and organizing the 40th anniversary service luncheon to honor Deputy Neil Thompsons’s line of duty death and serving and planning for the annual Bolt for the Heart races.

He is a member of the LCSO Administration, serves as the agency spokesman for media related matters and supervises deputies assigned to the Warrants Division, FAST, the commercial motor vehicle enforcement deputy and the school resource officers.

Major Heath Haferkamp received the award for his exhaustive efforts in securing a body camera grant in excess of $130,000.

Major Haferkamp is a member of the LCSO Administration, oversees the agency’s budget, motor vehicle fleet, civil office operations and supervises Courthouse Security personnel.

Deputy Robert “Paul” Adams received the award for is actions as a School Resource Officer who is assigned to the New Prairie United School Corporation.

As the COVID-19 pandemic hit and schools closed, Deputy Adams voluntarily took an assignment with the Midnight Patrol Shift. During this time, he still managed to distribute meals daily to the students of the NPUSC.

Deputy Adams also volunteers for the intramural athletic programs at New Prairie High School. He has served as the SRO for NPUSC since the fall of 2017.

Share this article:
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?