Tip Line: 574-344-5557 | news57@abc57.com

Working for you: 4th of July firework safety in Michiana

Sparks will be flying soon throughout Michiana for the 4th of July. But if you aren't careful, you could find yourself in violation of Indiana state law.

To purchase fireworks, you must be at least 18 years old.

The law requires that you set fireworks off on your own property. They can't be let off on public property like streets or parks unless you have a permit from both the state fire marshal and local fire chief.

In South Bend, if you set off private fireworks and debris or other material lands on a neighbor's property who hasn't given permission to let off the fireworks, you are in violation of the law.

Violating the rules can mean fines of $100 for the first offense, $250 for a second and $500 for the third.

You could face criminal charges as well.

As far as when you can start letting the sparks fly, well you'll need to check with your city.

In South Bend, you can start June 29 between the hours of 5:00 p.m and 11:00 p.m. Those hours stay the same until July 4th, when you can start at 10 a.m and finish at midnight. Then hours return to 5:00 p.m to 11:00 p.m from July 5-9th.

You also want to make sure you are keeping safe when using fireworks.

A big thing is making sure you have legal fireworks. That means only buying them from a dealer with a valid state fireworks sales permit.

Make sure they are 1.4G consumer grade only.

Any other type are illegal in Indiana. The label should tell you that clearly.

After you buy them store them in a cool and dry place.

Share this article: