FEMA denies federal assistance to Indiana for summer storms

The Federal Emergency Management Agency denied Indiana's request for federal assistance for government and certain non-profit organizations in 19 counties related to storms and flooding between June 7 and July 29.

Governor Mike Pence has asked the Indiana Department of Homeland Security to pursue an appeal.
“Our local governments particularly need assistance, so we’re going to appeal the decision,” said Governor Pence. “These grants will help alleviate further burden on local taxpayers. I’ve directed the Indiana Department of Homeland Security to continue to gather damage and further documentation. The updated findings will then be presented for federal review.”

The 19 counties are:

  • Adams
  • Allen
  • Benton
  • Brown
  • Clark
  • Fulton
  • Huntington
  • Jay
  • Jefferson
  • Jennings
  • Marshall
  • Newton
  • Pulaski
  • Scott
  • Vermillion
  • Wabash
  • Warren
  • Washington
  • Wells

The federal assistance would be provided to local governments and non-profits that provide government services in the counties listed, if the appeal is approved.

The grants would pay for 75-percent of eligible expenses for damage to roads, bridges, utilities, buildings’ contents and equipment, water control facilities, parks and recreational facilities, and others, as well as debris removal and emergency protective measures like traffic control and rescue operations

Share this article: