Flood victims in 13 additional counties now eligible for disaster assistance

Residents in 13 additional counties are now eligible for disaster assistance for damage from flooding that happened between February 14 and March 4, 2018.

The 13 counties now eligible for assistance include: Dearborn, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, LaPorte, Ohio, Porter, Pulaski, Spencer, Starke, Switzerland, Vanderburgh and White counties.

Residents who suffered uninsured losses can apply for assistance through Thursday, July 5, 2018.

The nine counties already eligible under FEMA’s Individual Assistance program are Carroll, Clark, Elkhart, Floyd, Harrison, Jefferson, Lake, Marshall and St. Joseph.

To be eligible for FEMA's Individual Assistance program:

The flood damage must have occurred at your primary residence

FEMA cannot pay for damage covered by insurance or duplicate benefits from another source

FEMA grants are meant for costs to return your home to a safe, sanitary and functional place to live. Damage to non-essential space or property is not eligible under FEMA programs.

You can register online, by phone, or by visiting a Disaster Recovery Center:

  • Register online at DisasterAssistance.gov
  • Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 for voice, 711 and Video Relay Service (VRS). If you are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585. Line is staffed 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. EST seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.
  • Information on the registration process is available in ASL on the FEMA website
  • Download the FEMA App and apply.
  • You may visit any open Disaster Recovery Center; find one near you on the FEMA website or by calling the FEMA Helpline.
Share this article: