Governor Pence declares state of emergency

Indiana Governor Mike Pence spoke about the extreme weather Monday morning. He declared a state of emergency for 29 counties.

He says it is a serious time across Indiana and the state is still in the middle of a dangerous winter storm.

"I am pleased with our states response," said Governor Pence. "Our local first responders are my heroes and we are grateful."

Pence says the focus now is on monitoring state roads, working to restore power and gas outages and care for people needing shelter from the extreme cold.

The counties included in the declaration are: Clinton, Delaware, Elkhart, Fulton, Grant, Howard, Jasper, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, LaPorte, Madison, Marshall, Montgomery, Newton, Noble, Porter, Pulaski, Rush, St. Joseph, Starke, Steuben, Sullivan, Tipton, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, White, and Whitley.

Share this article:
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?