Governor requests agricultural disaster designation for 88 Indiana counties

Governor Eric J. Holcomb has requested a Secretarial disaster for 88 Indiana counties for losses due to flooding and excessive rain during planting season.

A U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretarial disaster designation means farmers would be eligible for low interest loans.

“Heavy and persistent rainfall has saturated fields across the state, hurting Indiana crops and our farmers,” Gov. Holcomb said. “As I continue to monitor this situation, Hoosier farmers can rest assured that we will keep a close eye on the long-term effects of these relentless rains.”

The governor made a request in a letter to the USDA secretary.

A USDA disaster designation can be requested when at least 30 percent of one crop is damaged or lost in a county.

All of the counties in Michiana are included in the disaster designation request including:

  • Elkhart
  • Kosciusko
  • LaGrange
  • LaPorte
  • Marshall
  • Pulaski
  • Saint Joseph
  • Starke
Share this article:
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?