Manti Teo wins Butkus Award

CHICAGO -- Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o has won the 28th annual collegiate Butkus Award. Te’o was notified when he received a phone call from the award’s namesake Dick Butkus Monday morning.

Te’o was selected by a panel of 51 coaches, recruiters, scouts and journalists coordinated by Pro Football Weekly.

"Manti Te’o embodies the toughness, intensity, competitiveness and on-field demeanor of a throwback performer like Dick Butkus himself,” said Hub Arkush of Pro Football Weekly. “Te’o was the first ever High School Butkus winner (2008), and he has lived up to all the expectations and positioned his team for a chance at the national championship. He has been an inspiration to his team and community, and has serves as a model citizen."

Jaylon Smith of Bishop Luers High School in Fort Wayne won the high school Butkus Award.

Smith has already committed to playing at Notre Dame.

Share this article: