Marshall County identifies deputies involved in fatal shooting

MARSHALL COUNTY, Ind. -- The names of two deputies involved in a fatal shooting New Year's Eve have been released by the Marshall County Sheriff's Department.

The deputies were identified as Patrolman Richard Prater and Patrolman Blake Bennett.

Just before midnight on December 31, a deputy saw a red pickup truck commit a moving violation on US 30 at Pioneer Road. When the deputy attempted to conduct a traffic stop on the vehicle, the driver fled, according to the Indiana State Police.

The driver, identified as Jeffrey Marvin, 63, of Valparaiso, led deputies and officers with the Plymouth Police Department on a pursuit through Plymouth into Starke County, ISP said.

At a dead-end section of E. South Avenue, Marvin turned around and drove towards pursuing officers and hit two Plymouth Police vehicles and a Marshall County deputy’s vehicle, reports said.

The officers got out of their vehicles and Marvin allegedly drove towards two Marshall County deputies, who opened fire and struck Marvin at least once, ISP said.

Marvin was pronounced deceased at an area hospital.

The two Marshall County deputies involved were identified as Patrolman Richard Prater and Patrolman Blake Bennett.

Both were placed on paid administrative leave following the incident, but have since returned to work.

Indiana State Police are conducting an independent investigation into the shooting, which is a normal procedure in these cases.

Their findings will be submitted to the Starke County prosecutor for review.

Share this article: