New Prairie teacher earns two national awards

NEW CARLISLE, Ind. -- Mrs. Tonya Aerts, a teacher at New Prairie High School, has been recognized for her role inside and outside the classroom.

Aerts is one of only 79 teachers across the U.S. to earn the 2021-22 PLTW Outstanding Teacher of the Year award.

Project Lead The Way (PLTW) is a mission-driven organization that is transforming the learning experience for millions of PreK-12 students and thousands of teachers across the U.S.

PLTW is honoring Tonya Aerts for her work in the PLTW Biomedical Science pathway.

In addition to the PLTW recognition, Aerts also received recognition as Outstanding HOSA Advisor, a nomination received from Indiana HOSA.

Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) is a global organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Department of Health and Human Services.

HOSA's mission is to empower HOSA-Future Health Professionals to become leaders in the global health community, through education, collaboration, and experience.

Mrs. Aerts has been a teacher at New Prairie High School for 15 years and teaches students grades 9-12.

Share this article: