Notre Dame men's hoops meet fans and honor seniors at annual banquet

NOW: Notre Dame men’s hoops meet fans and honor seniors at annual banquet

SOUTH BEND, Ind. - At the end of the season, or at the end of your career, there is plenty of time to reflect.

Notre Dame men's hoops did so in a formal setting with their annual meet and greet and awards banquet, "An Evening with Notre Dame Basketball."

"It's been fun," said graduating Irish guard Matt Farrell. "We've had a lot of success, so we're blessed. It was the best four years of my life. It's a real special place and it was a special night."

Throughout the awards, Notre Dame's senior class was honored and given the opportunity to make farewell speeches.

Bonzie Colson and Matt Farrell both earned the Captain Award, while the entire senior class received the Monogram Club's MVP award.

“They’ve been a favorite of mine, really," head coach Mike Brey said of the five outgoing players. "Maybe it’s because of how they handled this year when things didn’t go well and guys were hurt. They just kept us going.”

"We understood the bigger picture," said Bonzie Colson. "That’s winning as many games as you can and just grinding to get better every day.”

Still, the Irish end on a bittersweet note, with the questions of what could've been without so many key injuries.

"The story wasn't how we thought it would be and how it would end for all of us," said Colson, who is once again recovering from surgery on his broken left foot. "But we've learned a lot of lessons on and off the court. We're all thankful for us to be here."

In the end, though, the Irish know that what matters is how they came together as a team and as a community with their fans.

"This banquet’s awesome every year," said Farrell. "A lot of people turn out. It’s special to be able to talk to them and get to know them better. I think it shows how passionate fans are about this place.”


Monogram Club MVP: 2018 Senior Class - Bonzie Colson, Matt Farrell, Martinas Geben, Austin Torres, and Matt Gregory

Captains Award: Bonzie Colson and Matt Farrell

Most Improved Player: Martinas Geben

Empty-The-Tank Award: TJ Gibbs

Defensive Player of the Year: Rex Pflueger

Knute Rockne Scholar-Athlete Award: Matt Gregory

Team Irish Award: Austin Torres

Share this article:
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?