South Bend Cubs award scholarships to Michiana students


The South Bend Cubs announced names of the five college-bound high school students who have earned $5,000 scholarships.

The students play softball or baseball.

All five scholarship winners will be welcomed to the South Bend Cubs home game at Four Winds Field on July 9th by Team Owner Andrew Berlin and Team President Joe Hart.

The students are:

  • Jacob Arndt of South Bend
  • Brogan Briggs of La Porte
  • Chelsea Huppert of Bremen
  • Ashton Pease of Walkerton
  • Ben Robertson of Edwardsburg

"The scholarships are important to the team because we're making an investment that's frankly more important than a new amenity to the stadium," commented Andrew Berlin, Owner of the South Bend Cubs, in a press release. "This is an investment in future leaders of our region. At the same time, it's an investment in the rich softball and baseball tradition of this community. We're encouraging more kids to get involved in this all-American game. That's why you have to play softball or baseball to apply for these scholarships. We think that's a good thing."

"These five students have already demonstrated leadership potential," said Joe Hart, President of the South Bend Cubs, in a press release. "Our application process made academic performance the table stakes. The difference for the winners is what we saw in the essays they wrote. Some of the kids talked about tough situations they found themselves in. Some of them talked about their personal values and how it affects the way they approach life. These are all great young people who we're proud to award scholarships."

Share this article: