South Bend Cubs win national award, highest honor in MiLB


The South Bend Cubs received the highest honor in Minor League Baseball, the John H. Johnson President's Award. The team was notified at noon on Wednesday they were picked from all 160 teams in the country.

The John H. Johnson award is based on financial stability, contributions to league stability, contributions to baseball in the community and promotion of the baseball industry.

The South Bend Cubs are the 42 team to receive the award.

Team representatives will receive the award during the Baseball Winter Meetings on Sunday, December 6 in Nashville, Tennessee.

This is only the second time an Indiana team has won the award. Indianapolis won in 1988.

In a press release, Pat O'Conner, the Minor League Baseball President & CEO said, "Through dedication to their community and commitment to making Four Winds Field a better place for fans, the South Bend Cubs broke attendance records and became a business leader in their area. This award recognizes them for their pursuit in setting a higher standard for all of Minor League Baseball. On behalf of Minor League Baseball, I congratulate the South Bend Cubs on an outstanding season and wish them continued success in the future.”

“Frankly, this is an award we have to share with every fan in every city, town and village from a hundred miles around. Without them, we wouldn’t be receiving it. This is the greatest baseball region in the world. And it’s an honor to accept this distinction on behalf of the executives at Four Winds Field who make it a place to call home for nearly 350,000 men, women and children all summer long. We have the best executives in the business and the best fans in minor league baseball," said Team Owner Andrew Berlin in the press release.

The team won this award during the inaugural season of the South Bend Cubs.

The team set franchise records for the largest single season attendance at 347,678 fans and the average attendance was 5,039 at Four Winds Field, according to the team.

“On behalf of the entire South Bend Cubs organization, we are incredibly honored to accept the 2015 John H. Johnson President's Award,” said South Bend Cubs President Joe Hart in the press release. “To be selected for this prestigious award over some of the best franchises across the nation is extremely humbling. The 2015 season broke a number of longstanding records in South Bend and would not have been possible without the hard work and dedication of our front office and gameday staffs. We pride ourselves on having the most passionate and customer service-focused people working for us. It is wonderful to see their hard work recognized.”

1974         Rochester, International
1975         Tacoma, Pacific Coast
1976         Mexico City Red Devils, Mexican
1977         Fresno, California
1978         Iowa, American Association
1979         Denver, American Association
1980         Quad-City, Midwest
1981         Great Falls, Pioneer
1982         Tacoma, Pacific Coast
1983         Louisville, American Association
1984         Albuquerque, Pacific Coast
1985         Las Vegas, Pacific Coast
1986         El Paso, Texas
1987         Syracuse, International
1988         Indianapolis, American Association
1989         Durham, Carolina
1990         Pawtucket, International
1991         Albuquerque, Pacific Coast
1992         Buffalo, American Association
1993         Norfolk, International
1994         Billings, Pioneer
1995         Columbus, International
1996         Salt Lake, Pacific Coast
1997         Richmond, International
1998         Lynchburg, Carolina
1999         Tulsa, Texas
2000         Portland, Eastern
2001         Eugene, Northwest
2002         Iowa, Pacific Coast
2003         Reading, Eastern
2004         Rochester, International
2005         Trenton, Eastern
2006         Altoona, Eastern
2007         Midland, Texas
2008         Cedar Rapids, Midwest
2009         San Jose, California
2010         Billings, Pioneer
2011         Tennessee, Southern
2012         Dayton, Midwest
2013         Vancouver, Northwest
2014         Durham, International

Share this article: