Please note: Over-the-air viewers in South Bend need to re-scan televisions on Friday, October 18 to continue to receive ABC57, MyMichiana, Telemundo, MeTV, Decades, Movies!, Start TV and ThisTV and most other local channels in addition to WBND/WMYS. Those viewers unable to currently receive these stations over-the-air should see improved reception on October 18. Cable and satellite viewers are not impacted.

Further information on the re-scan can be found at:

https://www.abc57.com/news/antenna-viewers-plan-to-rescan-your-television-on-october-18

Tip Line: 574-344-5557 | news57@abc57.com

State troopers remind drivers to move over or slow down

SOUTH BEND, Ind. -- Indiana State Police troopers are trying to bring awareness of the law that requires drivers to move over or slow down if a law enforcement officer is on the side of the road.


The law requires drivers to move over one lane if an emergency or highway maintenance vehicle is stopped. If drivers can’t move over they are required to slow down 10 miles below the posted speed limit.


It’s a law Indiana State Trooper Gretchen Deal takes very seriously.


She was helping a car on the side of the road when she heard a semi coming dangerously fast towards them.


The truck did not move over and actually drifted onto the shoulder.


“I had to basically dive over the front of the vehicle that I was trying to help. The truck swiped my arm and I realized the next day I had a slipped disk from it,” said Deal.


But she said she is lucky she made it back home that night to her three kids.


That's something that hasn't been the case for all law enforcement.


 “So far 150 have been killed by a vehicle hitting them while they’re on the side of the road,” Deal said.


And now Trooper Deal is stopping drivers who disobey the law.


Those drivers will receive a $300 fine.


Deal said it’s not only a law but a common courtesy to help protect those who protect us.


Deal said she thinks a lot of drivers don’t know about the law.


It has been in effect since 2010 and is required in every state except Hawaii.

Share this article:
Save with
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
Close

0 Comments

Post a comment
Be the first to leave a comment!
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?