Voting problems, confusion reported around Michiana on Election Day

ST. JOSEPH COUNTY, Ind.—Voting issues were reported, in addition to some confusion, around Michiana on November 5.

Voters reported that voting machines were not working at several locations, including at John Marshall and McKinley elementary schools.

An inspector said that John Marshall said that they had technical issues between 7 and 9:30 a.m.

Another voter reported that voting machines were not working at Mishawaka High School. An election official at the high school said that they had called in maintenance staff to fix the problem but it was unknown when it would be completely resolved. People waiting to vote at this location were reportedly told that they could wait for the issue to be resolved.

Officials at Fire Station 5 in South Bend said that they had people leave while they experienced issues but a few did come back and vote.

"They were happy after the second time. Not so happy the first time," said Ada Dougles-Plummer, an election official at Fire Station 5.

Fire Station 5 was experiencing technical issues around 6 a.m. and they lasted for about an hour, according to officials.

St. Joseph County Clerk Rita Glenn said Tuesday that polling locations were having issues with both new equipment and new inspectors but added that poll workers have been told never to turn voters away.

Glenn said that anyone in line during voting hours will be allowed to vote.

About 30% of the 93 precincts in St. Joseph County were impacted by issues with the touch screens used at polling locations, according to Glenn.

Glenn also said that issues were reported at Riley High School but have since been resolved.

The Elkhart County Clerk, Christopher Anderson, said that several voter centers had reported that there was “a lot of confusion as the result of the constant national debates that are on TV.

Anderson wants to remind voters that the elections on November 5, 2019 are municipal elections and only registered voters in the cities of Elkhart and Goshen as well as the towns of Bristol and Millersburg are eligible.

Share this article: