Area Code change goes into effect today

If your phone number has the area code 574 or 219 starting today you now have to use 10 digits to make local phone calls and texts.

You will no longer be able to just dial the seven-digit number for someone with the same area code.

This change will allow for the 988 code for the National Suicide Prevention Hotline that will go into effect July 2022.

Until the transition is complete if you need help continue to use the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline by calling 1-800-273-8255 or using an online chat.

The US states affected by the mandatory 10-digit dialing include: Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.

Share this article: