Burn bans and firework restrictions persist despite rain

The temperature has cooled down a bit and parts of South Bend saw some heavy rain on Thursday.

We are still in need of a significant downpour.

Burn bans are still in affect in 52 Indiana counties, including LaPorte, St. Joseph, Marshall, Kosciusko, Starke, and LaGrange.

Some counties are even moving foward with fireworks restrictions.

LaPorte County banned all fireworks, but this ban expired at noon. Kosciusko County banned all personal fireworks, but permits those with the fire department on scene. This also expired at noon.

The following counties strongly discourage fireworks:

  • Elkhart (through this weekend)
  • Fulton (through next Thursday)
  • LaGrange (through July 2)
  • Marshall (through next Wednesday)
  • Pulaski (through this weekend)

Most of these will continue, but county commissioners will have to vote to reissue burn bans every week.


Share this article: