Elkhart Sheriff's Department deputy wins Drug Recognition Expert award in Indy

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The Indiana Criminal Justice Institute honored 21 police officers, including three Elkhart Police Department officers and one Elkhart County Sheriff's Department deputy this past weekend, for their work in reducing drug-impaired driving.

Officials say that as part of the state’s Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) program, officers are trained to recognize drivers who are under the influence of drugs, and they are often called to assist with traffic stops with the goal of keeping impaired drivers off the road.

The 2023 DRE of the Year Award, named after fallen Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department Officer David Moore, was presented to Elkhart County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Casey Lehman.

Moore’s mother, Jo Moore, was on hand to help present the award.

During the awards ceremony at the Indiana State Fairgrounds, 18 officers received longevity awards, including Elkhart Police Department Officers Dustin Voss, Justin Gage, and Michael VenSolk, who were all honored for five years of service.

Michigan City Police Department Officers Gregory Jesse and Marty Corley were also honored for 15 years of service to law enforcement. 

“These awards stand as a testament to the dedication and expertise of those who work tirelessly to keep our roads safe from impaired drivers,” said Executive Director of the Indiana Criminal Justice Institute Devon McDonald.

Former NHL player Stu "The Grim Reaper" Grimson spoke at the awards ceremony, showing his appreciation for the work the officers do. Grimson was known as an enforcer, with over 2,000 penalty minutes in his career.

His father was in the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Share this article: