Notre Dame Hockey joins Big Ten Conference

The University of Notre Dame announced Tuesday it has accepted sport affiliate membership in the Big Ten conference for men's ice hockey.

The team will begin playing in the Big Ten conference in the 2017-18 season.

“While we have enjoyed our affiliation with Hockey East, the opportunity to participate in Big Ten hockey is a compelling one from the perspective of our student-athletes. The move will significantly reduce the time our team spends traveling, increase the broadcast exposure for our program and allow us to take advantage of the natural rivalries that exist with the Big Ten schools that participate in hockey,” Jack Swarbrick, Notre Dame vice president and James E. Rohr director of athletics, said in a press release.

The other teams in the seven-team conference include Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin.

Notre Dame is currently in the Hockey East Association and will be remain with that league through the 2016-2017 season.

Share this article: