Primary Election Day in Indiana: Trump, Sanders win Indiana, Cruz suspends campaign

After losing the Indiana Republican Primary to Donald Trump, Ted Cruz announced Tuesday night he was suspending his campaign for president.

Cruz needed to win in Indiana to increase his chances of having a contested Republican convention.

Now the RNC says Trump is the presumptive nominee. CNN projected a Trump win in Indiana just a few minutes after the polls closed.

Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders were in a tight race for Indiana's Democratic delegates, but at 9:15 CNN projected Sanders to win Indiana. Indiana has 83 pledged Democratic delegates up for grabs, along with 9 superdelegates.

Local races

In Elkhart County, more than 45,000 people cast their vote Tuesday, during early voting or by absentee ballot. That's the highest number since 2008 when 44,833 people voted. Elkhart County uses vote centers instead of precincts.

Republican Todd Young defeated Marlin Stutzman for the nomination in the US Senate race.

Democrat Lynn Coleman will challenge incumbent Republican Jackie Walorski for the Second Congressional District seat in November.

Michael McGann defeated Democrat Randy Magdalinski for the St. Joseph County Coroner race.

Phillip Dotson defeated Keith Forsythe for the Democratic nomination in the St. Joseph County Commission District 3 race.

The New Prairie Schools bond increase passed with 58% of the vote.

In La Grange County, Dennis Kratz won the Republican nomination for County Commission District 2. Kay Myers won the Republican nomination in the race for Treasurer.

The Argos schools referendum did not pass. Of 1,287 votes, 479 were in favor, 684 against.

Click here for full election results.

Share this article: