Indiana Governor adds seven counties to Disaster Emergency Declaration

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Governor Eric Holcomb increased the list of disaster emergencies declaration by seven counties on Monday.

The executive order that was signed now includes Benton, Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Jefferson, Spencer, and Warrick counties to the already Carrol, Dearborn, Elkhart, Fulton, Lake, Marshall, Perry, St. Joseph, Starke, Switzerland, and White counties.

Gov. Holcomb’s disaster declaration states that the Department of Homeland Security can take necessary measures to provide emergency services.

The declaration is also a step that the state must take to request assistance from the federal government.

The State Emergency Operations Center (EOC) was issued Thursday and will continue to stabilize the ongoing floods and respond to requests for assistance from officials locally.

Since then, the EOC has assisted counties by delivering over 700,000 sandbags, water pumps, labor crews, and other disaster recovery resources.

Other agencies aid are:

  • Indiana Department of Natural Resources
  • Indiana State Police, Indiana Department of Transportation
  • Indiana Department of Correction
  • Indiana National Guard
  • Indiana Family and Social Services Administration
  • Indiana Board of Animal Health
  • Indiana Department of Agriculture
  • Indiana State Department of Health
  • Indiana Department of Environmental Management
  • American Red Cross

Gov. Holcomb toured Elkhart and St. Joseph County where he learned about the damage and what the local response teams are doing.

Share this article: