Mayor to recognize South Bend Cubs for historic season

South Bend Mayor Pete Buttigieg will recognize the South Bend Cubs for its history making season during a celebration on Wednesday, December 2.

The mayor will recognize the South Bend cubs for shattering all previous single-season attendance numbers, earning the John H. Johnson President's Award and being named the Team of the Year by Ballpark Digest.

The celebration will be held at noon on December 2 at the Pepsi Stadium Club at Four Winds Field.

The first 150 guests will receive a complementary ballpark lunch in honor of the city of South Bend's 150th anniversary.

"It's been an amazing year," Andrew Berlin, owner of the South Bend Cubs, said in a press release. "And the city of South Bend, just like the fans who come from a hundred miles all around, has been a big part of it.  We're grateful to Mayor Buttigieg and every fan throughout the region."

Team Owner Andrew Berlin, team President Joe Hart, and Richard Nussbaum, the President of the Midwest League, will join Mayor Buttigieg at the podium.

Members of the Chamber of Commerce, DTSB, various business, university and not-for-profit leaders and supporters will be on hand to help celebrate.

Share this article: