Penn High spellers win 100th championship

LOGANSPORT, Ind. -- Penn High School's Spell Bowl team won its 100th competition championship under Coach Pete DeKever on Monday night, October 8 when the Kingsmen took top honors at the Logansport Invitational.

The first of the 100 competition championships came on September 28, 1998 when they won the Duneland Conference Meet.

"Winning 100 competition championships is a collective achievement shared by the 120 Spell Bowl players who have been on our team since 1998," explained DeKever, who is in his nineteenth season as the Penn coach.  "God has blessed our spellers with great ability and dedication, for which we are grateful."

Final scores at the Logansport Invitational were:

1. Penn 90
2. Martinsville 87
3. East Noble 67
4. Lafayette Harrison 49
4. Winamac 49
6. Logansport 48
7. Wabash 16

The Penn junior varsity scored scored an 86.

Perfect spellers for the Kingsmen varsity were:  Leah Hershberger,  Nitin Arora, Disha Waghray, Kanika Arora, Austin Heckaman, Chris Yun, Marija Lapkus, Nisha Bhatt, Richard Jung and Jenny Huang. 

Perfect spellers for the Penn junior varsity were:  Presto George, Faihaan Arif, Alec Jacobs, Alex Cao, Alice Kwak, Yejee Oh and Max Kirsch. 

Next up for the Penn spellers is the Benton Central Invitational on Wednesday, October 10.  

(Source: This was a press release courtesy of  Joe DeKever)

Share this article: