Ryan Hunter-Reay wins the Indianapolis 500

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. ---  Ryan Hunter-Reay won the 98th running of the Indianapolis 500 Sunday afternoon.

Hunter-Reay is the first American to win the Indianapolis 500 since 2006.

He passed Helio Castroneves on the final lap to win.

Hunter-Reay won by .06 seconds.

It was the second-closest finish in the history of the Indianapolis 500. 

Share this article: