Three Michiana high schools part of Department of Education’s college acceleration partnership program

Three Michiana high schools are among a number of Indiana schools that are part of the Indiana Department of Education’s Urban College Acceleration Network.

UCAN is a program that pairs schools in the Early College High School Program with schools looking to become an Early College High School.  

Mentor schools will guide partner schools as the partner schools work toward becoming an Early College High School.

UCAN also gives partner schools access to Early College coursework and educator professional development for free.

The Early College High School program builds a model to encourage students to earn postsecondary credits as they earn their high school diploma through dual credit.

The following schools are UCAN Mentor Schools:

  • Ben Davis University High School, Marion County
  • Hobart High School, Lake County
  • Muncie Central High School, Delaware County
  • Penn High School, St. Joseph County

The following schools are UCAN Partner Schools:

  • Anderson High School, Madison County
  • Arsenal Tech High School, Marion County
  • Concord High School, Elkhart County
  • Crispus Attucks High School, Marion County
  • Goshen High School, Elkhart County
  • Hammond Central High School, Lake County
  • Herron High School and Riverside High School, Marion County
  • Irvington Preparatory Academy, Marion County
  • Morton High School, Lake County
  • Terre Haute North Vigo High School, Vigo County
  • Terre Haute South Vigo High School, Vigo County
  • West Side Leadership Academy, Lake County

UCAN is funded with $4.1 million through the third round of the Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief Fund.

Share this article: