South Bend Cubs beat Hot Rods, advance to division championship

For the first time ever as a Chicago Cubs affiliate, the South Bend Cubs will head to the division championship.

SOUTH BEND, Ind.—The South Bend Cubs are heading to the division championship!

After beating the Bowling Green Hot Rods 7-4 on Thursday, the Cubs advanced to the Midwest League Division Championship.

This is the first time the team has advanced to the championship since becoming a Chicago Cubs affiliate. The last time the South Bend baseball team went to the championship was in 2013 when they were known as the South Bend Silver Hawks.

The Cubs will host Game 1 of the championship on Saturday, September 7 at Four Winds Field. The gates will hope at 6 p.m. and the first pitch is set for 7:05 p.m.

For ticket information, visit

Below is a schedule for the Midwest League Postseason games:

Round 1 - Division Quarterfinal - Best of 3 (September 4 – 6)

Series #1 – Great Lakes Loons vs. Lake County Captains (Series tied 1-1)

Series #2 – Quad Cities River Bandits vs. Cedar Rapids Kernels (Series tied 1-1)

Series #3 – South Bend Cubs vs. Bowling Green Hot Rods (South Bend wins series 2-0)

Series #4 – Kane County Cougars vs. Clinton LumberKings (Clinton wins series 2-0)

Round 2 - Division Championship - Best of 3 (September 7 – 9)

Series # 5 – Eastern Series #1 Winner vs. South Bend Cubs

Series # 6 - Western Series #2 Winner vs. Clinton LumberKings

Round 3 - League Championship - Best of 5 (September 11 – 16)

Series #7 - Eastern Division Champion vs. Western Division Champion

Share this article: